Arnhem Land

arnhem land Australia


Arnhem Land is made up of 91,000 square kilometres of unspoiled wilderness bordered by Kakadu National Park, the Arafura Sea and the Gulf of Carpentaria. Travellers wishing to visit Arnhem Land must obtain a permit in advance from the Northern Land Council. Alternatively, many organised tours visit the region, and in these cases a permit is usually organised by the tour operator. Arnhem Land is rich in culture and features a diverse landscape characterised by wild coastlines, towering escarpments, savannah woodlands and wetlands teeming with wildlife. The park protects wetlands of international importance and provides a habitat for abundant wildlife, including crocodiles, dugongs, nesting turtles and migratory birds. Townships within Arnhem Land include Maningrida and Nhulunbuy and the (ruins) of the Victoria Settlement on the Cobourg Peninsula.